a

Learn How to Drive Safely and Responsibly

Choose Parkview Driving School for driver’s education and road skills

Parkview Driving School provides top-quality driver’s education and behind-the-wheel instruction in Sulphur, Louisiana. Since 1995, we’ve offered year-round courses for drivers in the Bayou State. We are certified by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to administer road skills testing, driver’s education courses, pre-licensing courses and in-vehicle training. Contact us today to learn about our course schedule.

Before, a young driver could finish up Driver's Ed, get a permit, and then eventually obtain a license, but now there's an extra step.

Starting September, 4th 2018 all drivers must get an instructional permit before enrolling in driver's education.

"It's called a T.I.P. It's a temporary instructional permit, so, that permit is only effective for the course. You can't drive anywhere in any other vehicle with it. It's only for your course here and your 8 hours of behind the wheel training."

This new change in the law is set to go into effect on September 4.

Items to Bring to the office of Motor Vehicles to obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit for Drivers Education: Minor Students (14 years to 17 years old)
Original or state Certified Birth certificate (no photo copies)
Social Security Card
School Enrollment Form - Student Must be in the 8th Grade
Original or Court Certified Custody Papers (if there are any)
Legal Custodial/Domiciliary Parent/Guardian with there Drivers License or State Id Card 

Adult Students (18 years old and older)
Original or state Certified Birth certificate (no photo copies)
Social Security Card
Proof Of Residence ( Two proof of residences if applying for Real ID)
*Note: If any adult has a valid Louisiana State ID already issued and their Social Security Number is in OMV's system, then only the ID and proof of Residency is needed. 

Cost for Temporary Instruction Permit is $32.50 with the possible service fee up to $6.00. 

 

What driver’s education course do you need?

Parkview Driving School offers both classroom and behind-the-wheel training, as required by the state of Louisiana. When it comes to driver’s education and behind-the-wheel training, learning is not a race. We want to teach students how to drive safely so it’s easier for them to obtain their driver’s license down the road. Here’s what you need to know:

  • If you are 14 years 9 months to 17 years old, you are required to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
  • If you are 18 years old, you are required to take a 6-hour pre-licensing course and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
  • All drivers are required to complete a road skills test before applying for a driver’s license in the state of Louisiana.

Are you a licensed driver looking for a refresher course? We offer in-vehicle training for individuals of all ages. Contact us today to speak with one of our certified instructors.

You’ll be out on the road in no time

Parkview Driving School is certified by the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles to administer driver’s education courses and behind-the-wheel training. Whether you’re over or under 18 years of age, you need to complete the proper courses before applying for a driver’s license. Contact Parkview Driving School today to find a schedule that works for you.

Credit cards Not accepted.

For more information regarding Louisiana driving laws, click here!

  • Parkview Driving School

    1623 Picard Rd
    Sulphur, LA 70664

    GET DIRECTIONS


    Call Us
    Phone: (337) 527-7089

    Hours
    Mon: 8:00AM-4:00PM
    Tue: 8:00AM-4:00PM
    Wed: 8:00AM-4:00PM
    Thu: 8:00AM-4:00PM
    Fri: Closed
    Sat: Closed
    Sun: Closed